top of page

METAL LIVE: Summer Slaughter 2019


Location: 1720, Los Angeles, CA

Line-up:

Ticket: $25

I like the line-up this year much better than last year! It's my fifth time went to Summer Slaughter so far. I discovered so many awesome bands every time I went to the show. Like Animals As Leaders, Carnifex, Veil of Maya, etc for the first time I went Summer Slaughter in 2010! I felt regret that I missed Brand of Sacrifice (I discovered this band from Summer Slaughter as well), because I had to work until 6pm. Therefore I missed half of the shows.

I was glad that I saw Rivers of Nihil for the first time! They have a saxophone player playing jazz style in the technical death metal band which is very interesting and unique. I love jazz and metal both, but I feel it's really hard to match jazz in a technical death metal. Some jazz solos sounded like out of the place in the whole song, and some jazz solos sounded really fun though the whole song.

I really like The Faceless' 2017 album In Becoming a Ghost. it sounds more like Opeth, but more technical, progressive and a little faster. It's very different with Planetary Duality, but both are very creative and give me fresh feelings. Michael Keene is definitely a talented musician. It's really sweet to saw he proposed to his girlfriend on the stage! I hope they both happy together!

Carnifex's performance was my most favorite of that night!! I love the craziness and insane energies in their live music so much! I think I saw them 4 times. They always had the best show! I love their new album World War X a lot. And I bought their hat.

It's my fourth time saw Cattle Decapitation. One of my favorite bands! A rare vegan band! It just always grossed me a lot that Travis spits on the ground and body, then licked or drank his spit. I was far from the stage and didn't really see he does that again this time haha. I was glad that I took a photo with him before his show (before he spit on his body) two years ago. I still love this guy as an animal lover and an awesome metalhead, even he does gross things haha.

I was so happy to met new and old friends on the show as well. I'm a picky person for making friends, because I only want to know awesome metalhead friends!

Random photos

River of Nihil's live clips

The Faceless' live clips

Carnifex's live clips

Cattle Decapitation's live clips

 Who Am I ? 

 

I'm Sophie. There is a nerdy metalhead inside of me although I don't look like it. I don't like to drink, smoke or put makeup on to try to impress people. I love loud music and I have a huge passion for METAL.

When I was 18, I was interested in making websites. Therefore, I made a personal metal website called DyingLight that existed for 4 years. I putted many things related with METAL on the site. Right now, I changed DyingLight as a personal metal blog to record my favorite metal bands, metal lives and metal festivals I went, my metal collections and my old DyingLight stuff.

 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
 RECENT POSTS: 
bottom of page